Eat UP: Plantain Tacos

So, in my quest to cook up some different things on the show each week in hopes of challenging myself and my way of eating, I came across a recipe for Plantain Tacos. What is that? I asked the same thing. Basically, it is a taco or tortilla shell made from a plantain, rather than from corn or flour. I like the sound of this since, I am always looking to put a different spin on traditional dishes.

The recipe itself was/is pretty straight forward and only has one ingredient, plantain. Unripened, preferably. Simple and cheap. Off to a perfect start. The steps for this couldn’t be easier too. Cut off and discard the tips of the plantain. Cut into 4 or 5 large pieces, the size can vary of each piece. Then with the skin on, put into a pot of boiling water for about 20 minutes, or until you can pierce the skin with a fork. Drain and let cool for a few minutes. Take the skin off and toss it in the trash. Take all of your pieces and put into a blender or mixer. Once mixed, put into a mixing bowl. Make medium to large balls of plantain dough. After you have made the balls, take each one and flatten. I used a tortilla press that I received for Christmas. I love this thing. Take a gallon sized zipper bag and cut it at it seams, giving you two pieces of plastic sheets. Try not to use plastic wrap as it is not thick enough. Place on sheet of plastic on the press. Put your dough in the center and then cover with the other piece of plastic. You are doing this because the mixture will stick to everything, including you so you may want to use gloves when handling.

Once you have pressed all of the balls flat, you can now start to cook them. Take a frying pan and place on high heat. Do not use any oil to cook. The pan should be dry. Once hot, take you flattened plantain and cook it, about one minute or until you see that the edges of it are no longer flat on the pan. Flip and cook the other side. It is that simple.

As you will in the video below, I ran into problems while cooking this for the show. Besides being embarrassed, the mix up made me sad as well. You need to have a good, strong mixer or blender for this. I burnt out our blender prior to the show and then our magic bullet during the after show. Also, in my effort to be better prepared for the show, I did my food prep earlier than usual. The plantains being used for the show, dried out and became crumbles, rather than a batter. You can see my frustration. I couldn’t have left the plantains in the water before the show either, that would have made them waterlogged and too soggy. But I digress.

You can see from the photo that they do come out great. They make a great substitute for bread as well to enjoy a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on.

All in all, it is a great recipe and dish. One that I will be making again, just not until I purchase a new blender. HA HA.

Until next week, keep banging. Baby.

2017-01-23-20-08-47

 

Leave a Reply

