Pizza Pizza

Since today, February 9th, is National Pizza Day (it is also National Pizza Day, see SIDEBAR below), I decided to dedicate this week’s blog post to my favorite food group: PIZZA.

The origins of pizza are well documented. If you are not aware it was created to honor, Queen Margherita of Savoy but that is something you can look for yourself. For me, pizza was a staple around our house when I was growing up in Brooklyn, NY. Yes, because I am from New York, it means that I get to expertly judge pizza anywhere that I go. I am a self confessed “pizza snob” but I do not think that the only place in the world to get great pizza is in New York City. I love proving that fact too. When I go to visit friends around the country, I always try out the local pizza. I have had a lot of bad pizza, again something that can even happy in NYC, but I end up having a lot of great pizza.

When I first moved from Brooklyn to the Tampa area of Florida, I spent plenty of nights trying out pizza that people suggested to me. Gino’s, Queen’s, Alpha and Leaning Tower, all make some fine pizza that I would suggest checking out one day. One of my favorite places to hit up for pizza is Grimaldi’s. I had no idea that a restaurant from Brooklyn had a location in Clearwater.

lees

One thing that I haven’t ever been able to replace for me though, is the pizza from L & B Spumoni Gardens. L & B is a place that will always be special to me. I have been going there since I was a kid. Whenever I visit home, it is somewhere that I always stop at and if you are with me, then know you will be trying it out as well. Just this past July, I went home to visit a sick friend and my girlfriend Jen came with me. She has never been to New York and stopping at L & B was our second stop.

l7b

So, what are some of your favorite spots for pizza in your town?

 

SIDEBAR: Today is also National Bagel Day. A few months ago, I did an episode of EAT UP where I made pizza bagels. Take a few minutes and check it out. Thank you.

 

Keep Bangin’

2 Comments

  1. Numero Uno, crispy outside/chewy inside/sweet, buttery crust…and ChiChi’s pizza, awesomely thin and olive oily, cut into strips instead, for those who prefer to fold, w/THE best antipasto salad on the side! Grrrr….both are in Southern CA! Northridge, for me, specifically…🍕👍🏼

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

