International Women’s Day

My grandmother, Grammy, was a strong woman. She helped raise my sister and I since my mom was a single mom with two kids and 3 jobs. She made sure that we ate, went to school and had clean clothes. It wasn’t easy. My sister and I were good but a hand full. We ate good, cut out of school when we could and always knew that Grammy had our backs. She saved us from a few ass whippings and doled out her own brand of discipline with a wooden spoon.

I sat under her learning tree as often as possible when she offered up lessons to me what being a man is all about. More often than not, she was right.  As I got older, she was my biggest supporter. She always laughed at hi-jinx and antics. She would tell me what qualities to look for a partner. She taught me to be kind but not a push over, to stand up for what I thought was right. She opened up a world to me of late night TV, Sinatra and the joy you give to people by cooking for them.

If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t be doing all of these projects today. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t know how important it is for women to be strong. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t be the man I am today.

Thank you Grammy.

17191262_1410373925650919_2008532972147998224_n

Keep Bangin’

Leave a Reply

