Stugots In The Big Easy

Growing up in Brooklyn, I am used to the hustle and bustle of a big city and living in a small town in Florida, makes me miss what it can be like. That buzz, the energy, the vibe, what ever word you want to use to describe it, it is addicting. There is a certain feeling of comfort and familiarity that comes with that feeling. While some people feel put off or nervous in a big city, I embrace it. Like any other big city, New Orleans has a distinct personality. “The Big Easy,” “The Crescent City.” “The City That Care Forgot” are all nicknames for this great city. It is a city that has suffered and endured. It continues to struggle to rebuild all while being the country’s “City of Festivals.”

This was my second trip to New Orleans and both times, it was for a very short trip. I can safely say that I will be going back soon enough though. In no means do I feel like I have seen all that the city has to offer. I am and always will be a tourist and an outsider and I am fine with that. I am not posting about my weekend there to present myself as an expert on all things New Orleans.

So, yeah, our trip was short but filled with some great experiences. We got to spend some time with my buddy, Mike and his family. Mike’s wife Liz took us around the French Quarter to a few great spots, some tourist spots like LAFITTE’S BLACKSMITH SHOP, which is the oldest bar in America, and to some places that only locals go to, like New Orleans Hamburger and Seafood. 

2017-03-12 14.55.49

The food and drink at these spots did not disappoint either. Molly’s at the Market served up a cup of frozen Irish coffee that helped get us going on a solid start. 2017-03-12 11.03.49.jpg

After that, we were off to the races. The pinnacle was when we headed to Central Grocery for Muffuletta. If you do not know what it is, well, then you are missing out. This was the first time that I had ever had this creation and sadly, it made me question what I have been doing with my life that it took me 43 years to before I had one. If you don’t know what Muffuletta is, there here is a quick origin: here

Look at this and drool: 2017-03-13 11.02.01

Here is the one handed bbq shrimp po boy that I had:

2017-03-11 17.45.32

And the drinks at Lafitte’s

2017-03-12 15.09.59

All in all it was a great time. I got to film an episode of Day Drinking and the premier episode of Eat OUT. Both of which I will post here over the next few days.

Keep Banging.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

